Need to do/check something on lots of packages?

I do.  Not all the time, but every once in a while.  I used to have a script for doing this with CVS, but I have no idea where it went.  I also couldn’t find anything that did exactly what I wanted, so after some futzing around, I made my own.  It’s simple, it’s rough, it’s ugly, but it scratches my itch.  It takes a FAS username, and clones all packages owned by that FAS user in the current directory.  It takes an option to run fedpkg prep in in each check out as well.  You can find it here.

I’m mulling adding features, and am open to suggestions and patches as well.  If you find it useful, let me know!

3 thoughts on “Need to do/check something on lots of packages?

  1. bochecha says:

    Before you go and add an option to checkout a specific branch for each project you are cloning and then wonder where that “too many open files” error is coming from:
    https://github.com/gitpython-developers/GitPython/issues/60

    Although the bug is lower down the stack, it gets triggered by the “fedpkg switch-branch” code path. 😦

    • bochecha says:

      Oh wait, you’re actually forking a call to the fedpkg executable, not using its library, so you won’t get impacted.

  2. limburgher says:

    Right. What did you think I meant by “ugly”? 🙂 Though I am thinking about a switch-branch option, in case you know in advance you want to check something other than rawhide.

Leave a Reply

