Another reason I like systemd

Got a bug report that liquidwar-server was crashing.  I’ve been playing liquidwar for ages, but had never used the server.  So I don’t really know how long that’s been broken, I inherited the package from someone else.  So I patched that. Total time spend on buffer overflow: 10 minutes.

The server ran great from the command line but hung when started by systemd.  I changed the service type from forking to simple (by removing the Type declaration) and it worked as expected, so I committed and built for rawhide and f17.  Total time spent on systemd issue:  5 minutes.

Then I worked my way back to f16, which is still on sysvinit.  Patch applied, binary ran, but it still hung at service start.  I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a sysvinit expert.  I experimented and googled and eventually stuck quotes around the command and arguments.  Total time spent on sysvinit issue: 20 minutes.

It took me more time to fix the sysvinit issue than the systemd issue, but it also took me more time to fix the sysvinit issue than it took me to fix a C buffer overflow.

And that is one more reason why I like systemd. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another reason I like systemd

  1. ottoresponder says:

    From a sysadmin perspective, the user interface sucks. I mean, really! This is how you check to see if a daemon is up???

    systemctl is-enabled foo.service; echo $?

    We’ve gone from a bone-simple interface to this?

Leave a Reply

